7. Older

I made it all up

But I think I remember you! On a sunny day in Cornwall

The wind disagreeing with your hair

And loving that little thing you do with your eyes

I’d give you all the little violets of the world

Even though they’re raised on pure rainwater

(you know it’s what I’m made of)

I’ve been to almost every place we loved together

Many times, too,

I relived your memory so as to burn myself more brightly.

Two seasons passed and nothing has changed;

Nothing except perhaps you.

We seem to have fallen from the same star.

It’s funny, because today I looked up at the sky and the moon was half

And I knew.

Leave a Reply

